In November 2008, the founding members decided at a joint meeting in Agen, France to create a European network of Penitentiary Training Academies that would be named EPTA.

At a meeting in Rome, Italy, in June 2009 the founding members drafted a joint declaration and accession protocol reflecting the common values of the members of this new network.

Finally, in April 2010, the founding members signed the EPTA declaration and protocol.

The 11 founding members were from:

Andorra               France              Spain   

Belgium               Italy                  Switzerland 

Catalonia             Norway            Sweden

Croatia                 Romania                           

In the years after 2010 more Staff Training Academies joined the EPTA network. These were from:

  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Czech Republic (2016)
  • Denmark
  • Georgia
  • Bavaria, Germany (2014)
  • Ireland (2011)
  • Northern Ireland
  • Poland

Previous seminars and adhensions

EPTA began its trajectory in a first meeting that took place at the School of the French Penitentiary Administration (ENAP) in November 2008. There, the need appeared for sharing knowledge and experiences through an organization that fostered relations and exchanges among its members.

In 2009, a meeting in Rome advanced the EPTA’s definition of structure and organization, and the protocol of engagement for its members was defined.

Finally in Toledo (2010) and under the Spanish presidency of the European Union, the protocol of engagement was formally signed by the following penitentiary administrations:

  • Andorra
  • Belgium
  • Catalonia
  • Croatia
  • Spain
  • France
  • Italy
  • Norway
  • Romania
  • Sweden

From 2011 to 2013, EPTA celebrated its annual conferences in Oslo (Norway), Marneffe (Belgium) and Potloise (Ireland).  Other countries joined the network during these years:

  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Denmark
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Northern Ireland
  • Poland
  • Switzerland

Catalonia and EPTA – the Presidency 2013-2014

Catalonia is engaged in the EPTA network as a founding member. The Catalan participation in the meeting of 2008 at the School of the French Penitentiary Administration (ENAP) was a result of the close collaboration between the Centre for Legal Studies and Specialized Training (CEJFE) and the ENAP. Furthermore, Catalonia signed the initial protocol of the formal constitution of the network in Toledo in 2010.

During the annual EPTA conference held in Portloise (Ireland) in June 2013, the candidature of Catalonia for the annual Presidency of the network was presented and obtained the support of all the EPTA members.

The Catalan Presidency will be in force until June 2014, and will culminate with the annual EPTA Conference that will take place in Barcelona, in the Centre for Legal Studies and Specialized Training (CEJFE).